Thor Batteries- damaged by the cold?

SquatchMobile

Newly Enlightened
Hey all,

Long time lurker, first time poster, y'all can call me Sarge. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

I've owned two 3.5 mcp Thors and they've both quit taking a charge in the middle of winter. I do a lot of recharging in my truck, so they're out in the cold for extended periods sometimes. Will this kill the batteries? I'm pretty new to this kind of stuff.

I dug into the first one to see what kind of batteries it took, and it looks like changing them would be pretty involved. Would it be less hassle to just buy a new one and make sure it's kept warm?

Thanks!

-Sarge

SquatchMobile

Newly Enlightened
[ QUOTE ]
NewBie said:
If they are in the cold, they should be charged up.

Even car batteries freeze if not charged.

Are these Cyclops "Thors" or are they the Harbor Freight version (orange).

[/ QUOTE ]

Cyclops, the older grey ones. Also, I try not to run them dead between charging.

Thanks!

-sarge

Wolf

Newly Enlightened
SLA batts really dont hold up well in cold if they are dead, with a full charge they have a better chance, but not by much, leave a low charge on it once and let it freeze and it wont hold a charge at all, I have had to replace my SLA in my jump-box a few times due to it getting left out in work trucks during the winter

Wolf

Newly Enlightened
oh yeah the reason for the SLA batts to be damaged by the cold is the more it is in a state of discharge the more water is in the cells, freezing of the water pushes the plates apart causeing the cell not to charge anymore (least this is sorta what I was told when I was getting a new SLA for my box)

java_man

Newly Enlightened
If they are charged, they wont freeze , unless your in siberia /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif

batterycharge4sp.jpg

heat is a bigger threat than the cold /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ooo.gif

Draco_Americanus

Enlightened