US Congress bans Incandescent bulbs! - Energy Independence and Security Act

Z

z_AMDphreak

When I was reading carrot's high-end flashlight guide, I came to the part about Incandescent bulbs and how they compared to LEDs. Since I was in high school, I've been an advocate for using LEDs as efficient lighting solutions in flashlights and homes, and I did a science project on the relative efficiencies of halogen, incandescent, and LED bulbs, all small gauges, connected to AA batteries.

Little did I know I was doing it all wrong, since LEDs thrive on low-power, and Incandescents thrive on high power.

I almost didn't look back on incandescent light bulbs after that experiment.

A whole education later, I started learning to look back at old things and re-evaluate them, with more information at my finger tips.

In 2007, the United States Congress fell prey to the same kind of uneducated thinking I had used in much of grade school. The passed the Energy Independence and Security Act, which, among other things, banned the Incandescent light bulb in favor of the Fluorescent bulb.

My first thought was, No ones going to be happy with that. People dont like change. They dont like it, but its usually for the wrong reasons. If the Act had real value and had holistically improved the lighting industrys effects on the environment, I would have considered it a necessary change.

As soon as this was big news, even bigger news came around: Fluorescent bulbs have Mercury in them, which is even worse for the environment. If a bulb is broken, the EPA calls for people to go out of their way to take the broken pieces and anything they shattered upon and transport them to a recycling center for disposal. Washing your clothes or dinner table cloth is a No No, as it will introduce the Mercury into the sewage and eventually be either reintroduced into the water supply or dumped into the ocean or a landfill.