What am I missing: Why does my 300 lumens light seems brighter than my 550 lumens light?

MTHall

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
78
I have a Coast 2AA (300 Lumens) and a Thrunite Archer (550 on High). Both have fresh AA batts, both are 2AA, and batts are same chemistry and brand. I realize the Thrunite is more flood and the Coast is more focused. However, I love the coast beam and brightness but the Archer seems more dim. Is something wrong with Archer or am I missing something? Still new to LEDs so I am not sure about all the factors. Thanks for any ideas. I wish there was a light with similar beam characteristics as the Coast but slightly lighter and double the lumens. :) Forgot to say I use the lights for walking after dark in a field.
 

Chicken Drumstick

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Messages
1,611
Location
UK
Suspect it might be the tint and beam profile. But the only way to truly tell is to measure.

You can get a lux meter download on your phone. Just do a ceiling bounce test (dark room, maybe the bathroom. Point light upwards and see the lux reading, then repeat with the other light).

Then you'll know.
 

alpg88

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Apr 19, 2005
Messages
4,182
The best way to compare brightness of different beam profiles is to do a ceiling bounce test, just point them at white celling and compare how they illuminate a room. profiles do not really play a role for such test.
 

Msf

Enlightened
CPF Supporter
Joined
Jul 14, 2016
Messages
212
Location
Virginia
Are you running an AA or 14500 in the Archer? It will not put out 550 with a regular AA. If you are running it with a 14500, then it’s probably beam profile as said already.
 

3_gun

Enlightened
Joined
Jun 27, 2021
Messages
477
As said the light temp; 3000K warm & soft to the eye, 7000K cold & harsh & will appear to brighter even if the 3K light has a higher rated lumen level. Same with beams; a tight beam can look brighter than a flood beam even if the flood has a higher lumen level. Some lights will use more than one power source but different Lumen levels from each. Last the rated Lumen level isn't always what you end up with in real life as no one uses the same eqt for testing.
 

bykfixer

Flashaholic
CPF Supporter
Joined
Aug 9, 2015
Messages
17,600
Location
My own little Idaho
Are you running an AA or 14500 in the Archer? It will not put out 550 with a regular AA. If you are running it with a 14500, then it’s probably beam profile as said already.
I have some lights like that. The double a offers about 1.5 volts, the 14500 some 3+ volts. So using a double a means x lumens and using a 14500 means WOW lumens.
 

MTHall

Newly Enlightened
Joined
Apr 16, 2020
Messages
78
Are you running an AA or 14500 in the Archer? It will not put out 550 with a regular AA. If you are running it with a 14500, then it’s probably beam profile as said already.
Just regular AA. Not familiar with the 14500 Is the 14500 a.rechargeable?
 

Chicken Drumstick

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 9, 2011
Messages
1,611
Location
UK
Just regular AA. Not familiar with the 14500 Is the 14500 a.rechargeable?
14500 is an AA sized Li-ion rechargeable battery. They have 4.2v. Don’t put 2 of them in your light unless you are 100% sure it is designed for them. Chances are it’ll fry the electronics.
 

CarpentryHero

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Jul 4, 2010
Messages
3,070
Location
Edmonton
The Thrunite 2aa doesn’t support 2 14500’s last I checked.

It’s very much the throw that makes them look different, the Coast 2aa outclasses a fair number of 2aa lights for beam distance.
Tir optics help focus the beam alot, the other way to get throw is the smallest possible emitter with a smooth reflector. Which only a handful of manufacturers do for 2aa lights
 

jon_slider

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Mar 31, 2015
Messages
4,502
I think you answered your own question. A focused beam appears much brighter to the eye than a floody one-because it is...within the smaller area it illuminates.
agree,

Lux_vs_lumen_image_large.png

If I have a can of paint, to cover a small or a large area, I will have to use a thinner coating to cover a larger area. Same with light..
 
Last edited:
Top