What Virus Protection Do You Use And Freebies?

Gene

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've been using the AVG freebie. Seems to work as good as the others I was paying big bucks for.

AnotherDaveH

Newly Enlightened
I've heard good things about AVG. If you're willing to play the rebate game, Norton can be pretty cheap. I think I paid $10 for this year's update.

gadget_lover

Flashaholic
I prefer to get my virus definition updates as quickly as possible. I don't want to get a definition file on Friday for a virus that attacks on Wednesday.

To that end, I pay the extra for Mcafee. It's not perfect, but I doubt that any of them are.

Daniel

Pellidon

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have been using AVG free for about six months now since Norton kept missing several attacks. Then we moved and the company we merged into ours had just installed a Fiber optic T1 line (sweet). The guy who installed the new server also installed Symmantec's server based AV. I grudgingly took AVG off my workstation and six days later I was reinstalling Windows. Something came in and ate IE so Windows was kaput. I logged on the server (I'm the new admin) and Symmantec's logs were clear.

I put AVG back and have been two weeks clean. Also I use Firefox and Spyware Blaster that is a blocking program for cookies and some other attacks than an AV would miss. They have a list of over 3400 known threats to block and are updated about once a week. I've been clean since. It doesn't remove much so I also bought Spyware Nuker as Spybot seems to not update much lately. I also use Zone Alarm Pro for Windows firewalls.

At home and on the road I've switched to Linux (and Firefox plus Thunderbird) for most uses and am learning the AV/spyware thing over again.

gadget_lover

Flashaholic
It's amazing how many viruses, worms, trojans and such are out there.

---------------------------------------------------------
$ uvscan --version
Virus Scan for Linux v4.40.0