WickedLaser or EnVee

Freyth

Enlightened
Hi, I'm kinda new to the laser world and I'm looking for a laser that's worth the bang for buck. I'm caught between the lasers from wicked and the envee lasers. Are the safety features provided by envee that important?

I would also like to know if wickedlasers and the envee have a sustained output. I'm looking at the Evo-95 and the NV-90. Which one of them is visible in daylight? Oh and any other information on their lasers would be much appreciated! :grin2: Thanks!

P.S. I would also like to know why is it that the Evo-95 costs $400 while the EnVee costs only $300.

pseudonomen137

Newly Enlightened
Well, in daylight the dots will be about the same, and you won't see any visible beam. Bright daylight can even eradicate a 300mW greenie after a few meters though, so these lasers normally look the best in darker conditions.

As for the saftey features, the Envee features normally just hinder using the laser, and most can be bypassed anyway. What I like about the Envee though is the rotating aperture shutter which makes it really easy to protect your lens from dust (and coincidentally makes it near impossible to clean it if you do!). On some lasers like the Aries, the features make them FDA compliant, which helps get it through customs to the US, but neither the Envee or WL have the right features for full FDA compliance.

Neither laser has sustained output unfortunately. The Envee can be kept on continuously without really needing to worry about killing the diode though, whereas the older WLs recommended a 100 second on/10 second off
duty cycle. The new Evos may have gotten rid of the need for that, but in either case, neither laser really has sustained output.