Wireless Outdoor Speakers

flashlite

Enlightened
Warm weather is finally here in the Northeast and I'm ready to do some outdoor entertaining. Does anyone have a recommendation on a pair of good wireless outdoor speakers? The transmitter will be connected to an Onkyo TX-SR606 using Zone 2. Obviously, good wireless reception and sound are of utmost importance here. The speakers will probably be placed around 50-70 ft. from the transmitter but it will have to travel through two walls, one of which is concrete.

Onuris

Newly Enlightened
Hi flashlite, I might be able to help you with this as this is what I do for a living- I own a company that installs home theater and whole house electronics.

First you will want to find something that transmits at a frequency that will provide the least interference for where you are at. There are basically 4 frequencies at which most wireless devices transmit- 46-49 MHz, 900 MHz, 2.4 GHz, and 5.8 GHz. The 46-49 MHz band was used extensively for early cordless phones, cheap walkie-talkies, baby monitors, etc. This band is not used as much anymore, and it is very prone to interference from all kinds of household devices, such as TVs, refrigerators, etc. 900 MHz devices are very heavily used for wireless electronic devices such as cordless phones and LANS routers, so anything on that band is subjet to interference from them. 2.4 GHz is also starting to be used a lot for cordless phones, and is also susceptable to interference from microwave ovens. 5.8 GHz is even less prone to interference, and has even greater range.