Zebralight H600F c/d mk3 85cri and XM-L 2?

Tachead

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Jan 3, 2015
Messages
3,872
Location
Northwestern Ontario, Canada
My H600fc only took a week from illumn.com! Love that place. So far I'm loving it. Quiet switch, nicely built, beautiful warm tint (4000Kish).

I'm using it with a clip. Backup as headlamp. I'm using unprotected batteries so have a lot of battery rattle. ;)

A post it note solved the issue.

What clip are you using? I am running Thrunite 3400mah(NCR18650b) protected cells in mine and they fit perfect with zero rattle.
 

gunga

Flashaholic
Joined
Nov 29, 2006
Messages
8,080
Location
Vancouver, BC, Canada
I'm using a clip from a dqg tiny 3/4 clicky.

I bought a few from the dqg guy.

http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?401904-Review-D-Q-G-Tiny-III-18650

Edit, pic:

ImageUploadedByCandlepowerforums1455734120.839558.jpg
 
Last edited:

Tachead

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Jan 3, 2015
Messages
3,872
Location
Northwestern Ontario, Canada
I'm using a clip from a dqg tiny 3/4 clicky.

I bought a few from the dqg guy.

http://www.candlepowerforums.com/vb/showthread.php?401904-Review-D-Q-G-Tiny-III-18650

Edit, pic:

View attachment 2002

That looks like it fits really well. I might have to see if I can get one. How did you go about contacting him?b Is there a web store? Is there anywhere else I can find them? I hear the Armytek Wizard one might fit too and maybe the H502 one. I really wish ZL would just get with the program and include one or at least make one:banghead:
 

gunga

Flashaholic
Joined
Nov 29, 2006
Messages
8,080
Location
Vancouver, BC, Canada
I emailed him (another George I think?). Shipping charge was like $8 or something so I ordered a few clips. Using them on a few of my lights. Very firm. Not great for the finish though.
 

gunga

Flashaholic
Joined
Nov 29, 2006
Messages
8,080
Location
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Heya. Do you guys find the button is just slightly proud (sticks out) of the head? It's very slight, causes Minor wobble during headstanding. Just seeing if this is expected.

ImageUploadedByCandlepowerforums1455768626.196154.jpg
 

Tachead

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Jan 3, 2015
Messages
3,872
Location
Northwestern Ontario, Canada
Heya. Do you guys find the button is just slightly proud (sticks out) of the head? It's very slight, causes Minor wobble during headstanding. Just seeing if this is expected.

View attachment 2004


One of mine sticks up and the other is flush(just the rubber button itself not the pressed in ring). Its probably just minor variation in the production runs of the rubber button or where the switch is soldered on the circuit board, I wouldnt worry about it. The anodizing is darker on one of mine vs the other too. Things like this are normal as they make them in batches/runs just like many other products.
 
Last edited:

gunga

Flashaholic
Joined
Nov 29, 2006
Messages
8,080
Location
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Looks like mine is heading back. On the lowest level, it works for a bit then 3 of the 4 dies stop lighting. It also flickers a lot. The second lowest level flickers a bit too. Sigh. Too bad. Might try again or just return it.
 

Tachead

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Jan 3, 2015
Messages
3,872
Location
Northwestern Ontario, Canada
Looks like mine is heading back. On the lowest level, it works for a bit then 3 of the 4 dies stop lighting. It also flickers a lot. The second lowest level flickers a bit too. Sigh. Too bad. Might try again or just return it.


oh no:( How long on the lowest setting(L4) before that happens? It flickers on the lowest 2 modes(L3 & L4)? Could it be a contact thing? What cell are you using? That sucks:(. Both mine are flawless as far as I can tell. Maybe you got a lemon. I will say that ZL sometimes has issues with the first runs of their new releases until they iron the bugs out. I got both of mine direct from ZL for this reason(to ensure I got the newest production run). Maybe the one you got is one of the earliest or it could just be bad luck. I will say that this is the first bad one that I have read about on any site. The only other issue that I am aware of with this model is there was a shorter run time issue with the firmware on M1 on the first run but, ZL quickly addressed that issue. You could ask your dealer to check the replacement before they send it to ensure its perfect.
 

gunga

Flashaholic
Joined
Nov 29, 2006
Messages
8,080
Location
Vancouver, BC, Canada
It fluctuates a lot. Sometimes after a while, sometimes right away. I tried a brand new NCR18650GA as well as a new LG He2. Mostly the lowest mode. A little on second lowest (not tested much yet).

I dry cleaned the contacts then used de-oxit. Can try a very light sanding of the battery tube next.

I think I heard about first run sc62s having pulsing low modes too. Sigh.
 

Tachead

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Jan 3, 2015
Messages
3,872
Location
Northwestern Ontario, Canada
It fluctuates a lot. Sometimes after a while, sometimes right away. I tried a brand new NCR18650GA as well as a new LG He2. Mostly the lowest mode. A little on second lowest (not tested much yet).

I dry cleaned the contacts then used de-oxit. Can try a very light sanding of the battery tube next.

I think I heard about first run sc62s having pulsing low modes too. Sigh.


Try using a protected cell if you have one. Maybe the shorter bare cells are a bit loose? I'm running 68.6mm Thrunite 3400mah(NCR18650b)'s in mine. If not, I guess you will have to send her back to Illumn for a refund or exchange. Its a sweet light, too bad your having trouble. I hope you get it sorted out man.
 

gunga

Flashaholic
Joined
Nov 29, 2006
Messages
8,080
Location
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Hey thanks! I'll try it. I'm moving to unprotected but have a few bigger cells to try. Looks like sanding the end a touch made no difference. Still shuts off 3 of 4 dies and flickers.
 

gunga

Flashaholic
Joined
Nov 29, 2006
Messages
8,080
Location
Vancouver, BC, Canada
No dice. Better overall, but still flickers on and off. Unpredictable. I did catch it on video though. Also caught it switching from 4 dies to 1. It would be cool if this was a feature, but it's not. I don't think the circuit is calibrated properly for that LED on such low currents. Too bad I love using the minimum mode.

Exchanging it for another sample might yield the same results.
 

Tachead

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Jan 3, 2015
Messages
3,872
Location
Northwestern Ontario, Canada
No dice. Better overall, but still flickers on and off. Unpredictable. I did catch it on video though. Also caught it switching from 4 dies to 1. It would be cool if this was a feature, but it's not. I don't think the circuit is calibrated properly for that LED on such low currents. Too bad I love using the minimum mode.

Exchanging it for another sample might yield the same results.

That's too bad. I guess you'll have to send it back.

You just got a lemon, bad luck. I would exchange it and have them check the new one first or get a refund from Illumn and get one from ZL. Both of mine work perfectly on all modes including L3 & L4(zero flickering and all 4 dies are always lit up). I have been using L3 every night before bed and I ran L4 for 5+ minutes multiple times last night to check and both my "c & d" work flawlessly.
 
Last edited:

gunga

Flashaholic
Joined
Nov 29, 2006
Messages
8,080
Location
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Well. Mine is on the way back and a new one is coming soon. Great service from Illumn.com. The light has such beautiful warm tint and flood. Hard to resist.

If I had a choice, I'd get them all from illumn.com. So much faster, a bit cheaper and great service.
 

Beacon of Light

Flashlight Enthusiast
Joined
Dec 9, 2005
Messages
2,054
I may consider one of the MKIII Zebralight headlamps but so far my 2 MKII 600F and 602 are doing well AS-IS.

Where does CPF hide the dealers CPF promo code thread these days? I remember before they created the CPF Mall it used to be on CPF Marketplace but that site is read-only now and there is no code listed for ILLUMN.com.
 
Top