Dorcy 3D 1W LED overdriven?

Learjet

Enlightened
Hi guys, DSE electronics had a nice looking Dorcy 3D 1 watt aluminium torch that seemed to follow me home somehow. :shakehead

Firing it up I noticed it's very bright, much brighter than I expected. It easily outshines my MXDL 3W. I put the amp meter inline and it's reading 680 mah on fresh energizer batts! More than what my 3W draws.:eeksign: Now I'm still a LED newbie but from what I've read this is too much for a 1 watt LED right? Could there be a 3W LED in there by mistake? The writing inside says "lumileds". Should I put a resistor inline somewhere? I don't want to fry my brand new smelly rubber and aluminium toy!

IsaacHayes

Flashlight Enthusiast
It is overdriven probably. HOpefully it's heatsinked well. The current will drop fast with alkalines and steady out though. Use it for a while and then measure again and see what it is. THe dorcy probably uses a simple resistor and no current regulation, so it will be high at first, then go to a more normal level as the batts settle in.

The MXDL isn't driving the "3watt" luxeon/luxeon clone fully because AAA alkaline have a bad voltage sag and internal resistance and just aren't up to the task of the current demand.

cratz2

Flashlight Enthusiast
It is bright... even with many modified Mags, this is probably currently my favorite outdoor light.

But it is already resistored... With a 1.2 ohm resistor, I believe. I don't think it's significantly over driven... Good R-bin Lux I LEDs can be very impressive. The more recent Sam's Club Element lights mostly seem to have Rs and direct driven, they are very impressive. Also, do the MXDLs use Lumileds Luxeons or a knock off?

I haven't done any measurements on it, but I swapped in a TY0K (or maybe it was a TYAK) and it didn't get much brighter... with that resistor removed, it would have been a larger improvement.

Learjet

Enlightened