Any Drummers in the house??

Topper

Flashaholic*
A family member recently got a Drum set and with Christmas just around the corner I thought extra Drumsticks would be easy to git as a gift. Boy I was flat wrong; there are lots of sizes and tips on some are wood some are nylon
and I do not want to buy a book to learn how to shop for drumsticks so I could use some help on sticks. I already picked up some brushes that slide in and out and bought something called "Hot Rods" that look like little sticks bundled up so now we are talking normal sticks I guess. Yes of course I bought a cowbell with a clamp to mount to the bass got to have more cowbell. Any help if there are Drummers out there would be nice.
Topper

Zephyr

Enlightened
Hello Topper

I am not a drum expert or anything, but maybe I can help you out a bit. Like what you said, there are numerous amount of drum sticks out there to choose from. For instance, jazz drummers like to use sticks that are a little bit on the lighter side like size 5A or 5B for instance. Depending on their application, they might want to use a nylon tip or just a simple wooden tip. Nylon tip drums sticks will give you more definition on the cymbals. Nylon tip drum sticks will also last a little bit longer than wooden tip drum sticks. But, wooden drum sticks will give you warmth and subtlety when play softer more controlled situation. In essence, what kind of music does your family member play? Does your family member play rock, contemporary, jazz, etc?

One thing to remember about drummers who are experienced in their crafts, they are very picky about their instruments. Or at least, I am. I have a specific drum stick that I prefer on using, certain drum heads that I'd rather use, and certain "feel" I'd rather have when playing my instrument

Please, let me know if I could be of any assistance to you

CLHC

Flashaholic
Hello Topper!

You already may have heard of an online site called www.drumbalaya.com. There's just too much.