The L2P arrived. An inexperienced opinion.

Boomerang

Newly Enlightened
My Fenix came today and it's running on two alkaline cheap-o bats. It cost $46.50 It's got a 1 watt LED and emits 42 lumens. It's about the size of the mini maglite.

The design flaw is that even though it looks like it has angular sides midsection, it will roll if given a start.

My Elektrolumen's Blaster ($50) though an inch longer (?) than the Fenix L2P and about three times fatter with the 3-AA canister driving a 3-watt luxeon far outshines the Fenix L2P. And for the price it''s hard to compare apples to oranges.

I am new to LED flashlights and I know that I wouldn't want to use a Blaster Jr to examine my computer's innards because it's too damn bright.

The L2P is outstanding for less blinding light needs, so, that said, I'm glad to own one. I'll get used to which is best for each task.

You experts were in my position at some point. Have mercy!

All the best,

Andy
Scannist

Boomerang

Newly Enlightened
Well the cheap-o bats that I turned on at 4:30pm are virtually dead at 7:00pm.

It seems about 2 hours of regulated before it drained.

Pity.

Andy
Scannist

BlackDecker

Enlightened
There doesn't appear to be as much interest in the L2P as what was generated from the L1P. 2AA flashlights are very common, whereas not many manufacturers make a 1AA light.

jbfla

Newly Enlightened
Just a thought...

Put in a couple of new name-brand alkalines and see if it makes a difference.

I thought my L1P was a dud because I put in a battery that I had laying on the workbench. I thought the light was nothing special and put it on the shelf for a few weeks.

After reading all the good things written about the L1P, I decided to give it another chance.

A new name-brand alkaline battery brought my "dud" to life. :)

jb

Raven

Enlightened
BlackDecker said: