Surefire 10X Dominator...

D

**DONOTDELETE**

Hi everyone, kind of a newbie here...

I was curious.. do any of you use/own/covet the Surefire 10X Dominator?? I want one BAD, but the price is a little daunting.
I'll part with the cash after enough info-gathering, however
wink.gif

John N

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've got a pair of them on order but have not actually laid hands on one.

You can search the forum there has been discussion of them here in the past.

There is also some recent 10X discussion on the Surefire forum which you can find here under the "rechargable" forum (although you have to register to read it):
http://discuss.surefire.com/cgi-bin/ultimatebb.cgi

A short summary is probably this:

- Rechargable.
- 3 hrs on 60 lumen lamp, 20 mins on 500+.
- You can replace the 60 lu lamp with a
100+ (120?) lu lamp.
- Lexan lens. Can melt if left on high
~5 mins.
- More "flood" than any other Surefire,
including the M6.
- Not waterproof or shock isolated like the
M6. Water resistant I assume.
- They had problems with the bulbs from the
supplier. It sounds like they got this
fixed but there is a serious backlog.- Everyone who has one seems to be very
impressed with the volume and quality of
light. The only bad things I've heard
is the issues regarding melting the lens
with the high beam.
- Decent prices is probably $250 (reference
AGR).
Conclusions:

Three hours at 60 lumens is a long time for a decently bright light.
There are not many other lights that will net you 500 lumens and have a semi reasonable size /cost, etc.

Rechargable is handy when you can suck a battery in 20 mins.

It would be almost the perfect light if they had used a pyrex lens and delt with the cooling issues as well as used a shock isolated/waterproof lamp.

Alternatives:

- Surefire M6.
Pros: Durable, Waterproof, Li Batteries
two lamps to choose from, compact.
Cons: Li Batteries, only one lamp at
a time.
- UK LC 100.
Pros: Long runtime. Constant on.
Inexpensive. Uses cheap batteries.