dorcy metal gear, fenix l1p discussions....

bkkd

Newly Enlightened
hi, i am new to cpf, and have really started to take a liking to flashlights, and the leds have peeked my interest...

i got a dorcy metal gear from walmart and actually think its great, i dont like the battery system but its pretty bright and seems reliable..,..at least to me it seems bright.....

i want to get a fenix l1p to carry around on the job, but i cant really make heads or tails out of how it compairs in brightness with the metal gear which i know how bright it is......if the l1p has the output of the metal gear i will be amazed with it. or if it is even close to the output of it.

do any of you have a direct comparison between those two, it would be great to have that output in a small pocket light..........

now on to the metal gear, i have taken it apart and it has a small resistor on a board that i would assume limits the voltage to the led, has anybody removed the resistor to make it brighter, overdriving the led on it, it seems to be a quality led it has a very white output...........

what batteries could i mebbe fit inside the dorcy to make the runtime longer and brighter?

i know i have a lot of ? and hope you all will be patient with me in my learning and thanks again for the help

bkkd

bkkd

Newly Enlightened
chanamasala said:
Metal Gear battery mod: https://www.candlepowerforums.com/threads/90566

You might want to compare the reviews of each light from flashlightreviews.com:

Fenix: http://www.flashlightreviews.com/reviews/fenix_l1p.htm
Metal Gear: http://www.flashlightreviews.com/reviews/dorcy_metalgear.htm

i have looked at the reviews but i cant form a real world comparison of brightness from them, i know that probly makes no sense, but the fenix total output is a little more with the dorcey having more throw.............and would it be safe and would it gain much by compleatly removing the metal gear resistor?.............

Xygen

Enlightened
bkkd said: