Question about the G&P 5 watt drop-in for Surefire lights

Sburr23

Newly Enlightened
Hey guys, I'm new to CPF, I have a question for you. What do you think of the G&P 5 watt drop-ins for the surefire lights? Does this convert the Surefire into a GP light, or is it bright enough for tactical use. I'm not LEO or Military, but I do carry a light to use as a force option (shine light into someone's eyes). I've read reviews and looked at the throw and output numbers, but its hard to know what the numbers really mean. I have a Surefire L2 and I know if isn't as bright, but is it close to a SF L4? What about the quality, I have never owned any of these kinds of conversions before.

Great forum you guys have here.

Thanks

Steve

rikvee

Enlightened
Welcome to CPF Sburr23, pull up a chair and hide your wallet :laughing:

G & P replacement bulbs are in some ways better than Surefire, their 9V bulb is perhaps smoother than the P90.
The 5W drop-in may seem expensive, but it can indeed be whiter (slightly less bright) with a better hot-spot (but less spill) than the average 65 lumens SF KL4/L4.
Altogether very good value, the tiny ridges on the supplied bezel could perhaps charitably be called "tactical"....
"Tactical brightness" starts at 60 Lumens apparently, but I'm sure there is a variety of opinion on that....

Last edited:

socom45

Newly Enlightened
If I might make a suggestion....the new KL3 from surefire is an excellent choice if used with a 6volt surefire, like the m2 or 6p. Excellent runtime...bright enough to blind someone temporarily and run around $55.00 from lighthoundthe kl5 is exceptionally brighter but you'll suffer for that at the cost of runtime.
I've used the older kl3, as well as the g&p 3w drop in and wasn't impressed. Also beware if you use the 5w drop in from g&p it might get too hot for the standard bezel of the light you are putting it in. hope this helps

rikvee

Enlightened
Hi Socom45 :wave: