MonsterMag 1 is born! 46 kilocandela, ~2300 lumen

winny

Flashlight Enthusiast
I know it's Christmas, at least here it is (Why is it that you guys over there celibrate Christmas day and we celibrate Christmas eve anyway?), but that doesn't stop me.

I hope that someone hasen't taken the name MonsterMag yet...

This project started in April this year when I got a Philips Masterline ES lamp from a guy I know at Philips. I looked it up and found no other MR16 lamp that was so efficient with so narrow beam. Because of its rated AC-life of 5000 hours, I immediately thought - OVERDRIVE TO THE MAX! Out of the 5000 hours I only plan to be able to use 100 of them, which would mean a bulb-cost of about 22 cents per hour.

Next on the agenda was batteries. Using a 3D host, I could only get 14.4 volt using AA NiMHs. 2/3AA could have done the trick but I opted for 12 Li-Ion AAs. The resons for not using the 14.4 volt solution where two:
1. Boost converters are not as efficient as PWM.
2. There was no room for the coil needed, especially as I wanted to be able to run at 10+ ampere.

The biggest and hardest part was the actual PWM circuit. As I'm an electrical engineering student and we don't learn anything useful in school, I decided to put the rib high in order to actually learn something.

Therefore I planed for the following features:
* soft start, in order not to instaflash my bulb
* temperature sensing, just about every component is running on or well above specifications so I figured that some safety is needed.
* 0 uA stand-by load, just because.
* software breaker, because there are no 10+ ampere breakers with negligible resistance in my price range.
* LED indication of battery status, temperature and so on.
* 95+% efficiency, there are no other way using no cooling.
* must be smaller than a D battery in diameter.

All of this was achieved thanks to many hours of work and a buckload of help from my friend Alexander. Thanks Alex!

The data:

Host: Mag 3D, black