Why not more CR2-powered lights?

jsr

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm a newbie, but getting addicted quickly (with money, or lack thereof, being my only holdback). As I surf through CPF more (damn you people for all the temptations!), I'm finding more lights I really want, mostly the small and very small ones.
Since many mfr's are going for further miniaturization, I was wondering why there aren't more lights using the smaller CR2s vs CR123s? This was prompted by my search for more info on the JIL CR2 lights. Mfr's like such Amilite who use a twistie switch (I prefer clickies) to minimize size would seemingly benefit with a CR2. Are CR2s newer to the flashlight market? If so, is this niche industry migrating towards CR2s? Or do CR2s hold less power than CR123s to drive the greater demands of the latest LEDs?
Thanks.
BTW, anyone have a link to more info on the CR2 Ion?
And is there anywhere to get CR2s for as cheap or cheaper than CR123s ($1-$1.25)?

jayflash

Flashlight Enthusiast
Welcome to the CPF, jsr. I, too, wish for more CR2 choices.

Just my personal opinion but...CR2 lights, so far, have failed to light my fire because: they're as large or nearly so as CR123 types, they're expensive. The cells are more expensive, have less run time, might as well go to a AAA for less diameter.

A properly designed CR2 light could find its way into my pocket if it was only slightly larger than the cell and didn't cost a fortune.

My Arc LS/twisty does most of what the best CR2s can do plus it's got better run time. Hey, in fact, it's on my belt now.

greenLED

Flashaholic
A properly designed CR2 light will be considerably smaller than a 1x123 light. Their reduced runtime and twice the cost are negatives of this battery option (you can always get RCR2's :)

A few that come to mind right now:
Jil
HarryN's new light
Larry's CR2

tvodrd

*Flashaholic* ,