best mag drop-in mod

the_beast

Newly Enlightened
I've just had Christmas Dinner with a friend who is a big Mag-Lite lover. In fact he was adamant that the AAA and AA mags he has are the best around in the 'small lights that run on standard alkaline batteries' category.

I'm sure there are a few people on this forum who'd like to set him straight. However I'm new to the whole flashlight thing. I have been looking at some of the various mods that are available, but don't really have the time/skill to perform any of them. What I would like is a nice drop in mod that I can put into this guys flashlight and show him he's an idiot.

What are the best options for best output (and best throw)? I don't want to say money is no object, but I don't mind paying extra if the performance is available. I just want to know the best options for both AA and AAA mags, so I can show my friend that Mags really aren't the best thing since sliced bread. I want to be able to ask him to compare the output of our seemingly stock mags, before mine blows his out of the water :).

If possible I would also like to be able to use a range of battery types (lithium AA when I have them charged, standard alkaline when I have to pop in to the nearest shop), but I realise this may be asking too much. What options for regulation are there?

I've had a look through the Sandwich Shoppe but many of the mods there seem very tricky and time consuming. I also don't really understand the specs of the drop in mods they offer. Any info/recommendations anyone can give me would be much appreciated.

randyo

Enlightened
The Terralux TLE-5 Ministar 2 is a "drop-in" mod that BLOWS AWAY a stock Mini-mag. Led-Replacement.com is a reliable source. There are a few versions of this module, but the latest one has the "High Dome Luxeon" led, and it is a fantastic little package.