Help me, should I get the Fenix L1p or the L2p?

Lobo

Flashlight Enthusiast
Please bare with me for a rather lengthy question, but I'm a noob here and english isn't my first language. :)

I've been racking my brain for a while now over which light should replace my old 2D maglite, and after hours of review reading I've decided that one of the Fenix's suits me the best. I'm on a quite tight budget after christmas and being a student and all, so the obvious answere to get them both wont apply on me.
The size different isn't a biggie for me, but the abrupt regulation of the L2p could be a problem, and it seems like it doesnt use up all of the batteries power which seems like a waste. I actually like the fact that the L1p will go on for a couple of hours with low light, and that I could just pop in a new AA when it's out or just to get a bright beam again, insted of 2 for the l2p (twice the amount of batteries to carry around for a weekend in the forest), especially when they have the same runtime.

According to Roys chart the L2p is 69% brighter, and some other reading at this forum gives the l2p 100lux more in throw or so, add the fact that L1p isn't fully regulated and drops out full power rather quickly, but how much of a difference does that make in real life? As I understand it, it's quite easy to stare onself blind on numbers and forget that your senses actually wont register changes that seems huge when you only read the numbers. Add the fact that some threads here even states the L1p is brighter than the L2p!

And does any of them even come close in throw to a regular 2D light (well, the first 10mins at least, after that my mag was less than impressive, not to say depressing).

To break it down.

1. How much brighter is the L2p in real life? If it's a lot and noticable I'll go for the L2p.