Safety Reminder

beezaur

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi Guys,

I was driving on a rural highway last night in light rain. There were a few cars coming toward me in the opposite lane. I have been a volunteer firefighter for a long time, so I get pretty paranoid about roadway safety. Things go bad so quickly. Both hands were on the wheel, and I was right at the speed limit, 55 mph. Radio was off. I was paying attention to the road (actually was looking for cops out of habit).

Then, SWOOSH! I zoomed by a pedestrian walking away from me on the shoulder. I had to have come within a few inches of breaking the guy's arm with my mirror. All I saw was the back of a red ball cap and denim jacket. The only reason I can think of that I did not see him was that my lights were on low and he wore dark pants. There was no abandoned vehicle or anything else to alert me to the resence of a pedestrian on the highway.

I hope it scared the guy as badly as it did me. I suspect not though, since he was in the state of mind to be walking at least *on* the fog line on the wrong side of the road.

I know it is preaching to the choir posting this here. Just a reminder to assure that all your drivers at home have a light and are aware of visibility issues for those nighttime breakdowns. If I would have hit that guy he would have a fouled up arm, and I would stand a good chance of being in hot water.

Scott

pec50

Enlightened
Although firefighters are statistically the safest drivers, I too find myself wondering about these near catastrophies and pondering past incidents as I drive along familiar roadways potmarked with past tragedies so invisible to others. Even with protective clothing and lighting, it behoves us to be constantly aware of our surroundings when we are roadside particularly given the number of impaired drivers operating under the influence.

beezaur

Flashlight Enthusiast