Flashlight for sailing ?

JorgeM

Newly Enlightened
What is the best flashlight for sailing ? Waterproof and sinkproof. Leds, no leds. Etc

carrot

Flashaholic
I'm going to make a wild guess and say A2 Aviator. It has high-output Xenon when you need it, and low output LEDs for when you need to save your night vision.

Flash_Gordon

Flashlight Enthusiast
The floating requirement really limits you choices. Many good lights are waterproof, but will sink lake an anchor.

Coleman makes an entire line of floating flashlights and lanterns. They even make some that will turn on automatically if they hit the water. These are inexpensive lights and I have no experience with them or their quality. Worth a look at: Coleman.

Eternalight which is very good quality makes a couple of marine lights that will float if used with lithium batteries. Elite Marine.

Another solution is to find a good quality flashlight that fits your needs and budget and attach some of those key float devices to make it buoyant.

Keeping the light on a lanyard is a good idea. If it goes over the side when you really need it, it does not matter much if it is waterproof or floats.

Mark

greenLED

Flashaholic
I'd go with a dive-rated light. Pelican, Underwater Kinetics, and Princeton Tech have good offerings (Pelican being my favorite, for their quality construction and beams).

carrot

Flashaholic
Oops, I didn't notice sinkproof, else I'd have also suggested Eternalight. With regard to my A2 suggestion, you should just put it on a lanyard over your neck that's just tight enough to not go over your head too easily.

simbad

Enlightened