New U2 - 1st Surefire & 1st Impressions

Tremendo

Enlightened
Well I just got my 1st Surefire in, the U2. I'm new to all this, my favorite has been my Fenix L1P, and this U2 is my 1st light over $50 (quite a bit over). I have played with my buddie's E2D and M6. The U2 has 6 intensities.

1) The U2 is smaller that I thought, I was ready for a bigger light, I am pleasantly surprised.
2) Setting 3 is closest to Fenix output, but U2 is noticably yellowish at that setting compared to the whiter looking Fenix. (When I put the U2 on full, the Fenix looks blue comparitively).
3) Setting 5 is closest to Brinkmann MaxFire (2 x CR123 Xenon).
4) I see the "donut" beam, a little darker in the middle.

It's solidly built as expected.

CLHC

Flashaholic
Whoa first purchase into the $200+ range eh? Like they say around here: "Hold on to your wallet!"

fieldops

Flashlight Enthusiast
Good luck with your new light! I like mine more each day. Let's hope the clickies keep working.

Freedom1955

Enlightened
Get yourself some LG 18650 2400mah's and enjoy guilt free lumens. The U2 running 18650's is an owesome combination.

Tremendo

Enlightened
Thanks guys. I played with it for awhile tonight, it's growing on me. The clicky has a great feel to it, the clip is very functional. I like the ability to adjust the power, although the lower powers look greenish. I mentioned that power 5 is close to the Brinkmann Maxfire, but it maybe between power levels 4 & 5. I need to compare it to some 60-65 lumen Xenon SF's.

For now, I'm sticking with the standard SF batteries for this light. It's not for work or anything, and once the novelty wears off, I imagine a set of batteries will last me a while.

greenLED

Flashaholic
there are a couple of recent threads with impressions of the U2, BTW, in case you want to do some more reading on what people have to say.

Mike abcd

Enlightened
Freedom1955 said: