Newbie wants opinions/help on Aleph/KL1

bmlove

Newly Enlightened
Hey guys... newbie here with a couple (probably dumb) questions. I'm buying myself a "present" (meaning decent flashlight). It'll be a occasional carry flashlight, so it can't be too big. I was thinking of ordering a 1xCR123 Aleph body and a 2-stage switch from The Sandwich Shoppe and adding a Surefire KL1.

1) is this a good carry light? I would assume so with the small size, decent output and good runtime (in low mode with the 2-stage switch)

2) will it take RCR123s? I would assume since you can run 2x123s on the KL1 that the 3.7V wouldn't be a problem

3) is the KL1 the "natural" anodized color? Or would I be better off going with
the Aleph black?

I really appreciate the help. I have some "decent" flashlights--but never a really nice one... and I just wanted to solicit opinions before I made a $120 mistake. Thanks!

lrp

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have the Aleph 1x123 body and KL1 head, it is an excellent edc imho. The KL1 will match the Aleph body, I can't tell the difference. You will love the two way switch, I have both the standard and flat top, 22 and 10 ohm. And yes you can run r123. I think you have made an excellent decision!

Kiessling

Flashaholic
Hi and welcome to CPF ! :)

1) yes
2) yes
3) yes, the KL1 is natural, but I am unsure if the black version is out or not.

You might want to consider a beamshaper for your new light for close-up work, too. Makes a floodier beam ... since the KL1 has virtually no spill.

bernie

bmlove

Newly Enlightened
Ok... suggestions on the beamshaper or on another head that provides a bit more spill? I thought about the KL4--but its expensive and it would probably drain the battery in a hurry!

Thanks for the suggestions/help.

Kiessling

Flashaholic
The beamshaper makes your light into a light that can change its beam characteristic like a focussable light. This is good, and not many good lights can do that.