Here's another what light should I get question

Coop

Flashlight Enthusiast
Tilburg, the Netherlands (perfectly reachable by U
As I am quite new to this whole flashlight thing, I'd like your input on this.

I want to buy a new light, but I'm looking for some features

- LUXEON
- Metal body (preferably HA3, but HA2 will be good enough)
- clicky switch
- Hi + Low beam
- around 100 lumens on high beam
- adjustable beam
- possibility to convert to rechargeable

Maximum of $ 100 to spend on it. Light I found so far that comes closest is the Surefire L2, but thats too expensive...

Last edited:

MicroE

Enlightened
I don't know of any light that meets all of your criteria. You may have to compromise.
One possibility: find a great deal on B/S/T on an old SF U2.

nutz_about_lights

Enlightened
The Inova T4 is rechargable would be a good choice. It fits your descriptions and budget but does not have an adjustable beam.

Maybe you should save up for a surefire...

Lobo

Flashlight Enthusiast
Doesn't maglite have a patent on the adjustable beam(as silly as it sounds)? So that criteria rules out almost any light except maglite, I believe.
And the Luxeon criteria rules out all the maglites, so a mod it is.
wink.gif

carrot

Flashaholic
Adjustable beam seems to me like a pointless MagLite 'feature.' IMO there are no Luxeons with an adjustable beam unless you count adding a beamshaper. If I were you, I'd just take the L2. You can get it from OpticsHQ for $124 with the CPF discount. Free shipping. If you read the review at Flashlightreviews.com you'll see that it doesn't last very long on high, but most people on CPF agree that the L2 is great anyway, because its low output tends to be good enough for most general-purpose lighting needs. 15 lumens is a respectable amount at night.

Pwdrkeg

Enlightened
Welcome to the forum. Go for the U2 ! A small well machined
lithium powered variable projector of bright white photons