Money for College

cosine

Newly Enlightened
(No, not spam)

College is rapidly approaching for this high school senior, and I am now exploring my options for paying for it. Does anybody here have any recommendations, reviews, experience, or other wisdom or ideas of college financial planning they would like to share?

I'm looking at scholarships, grants, Federal financial aid, and loans. Does it look like I missed any options to obtain money for college? Any specific recommendations are appreciated too.

Anything you'd like to share about this subject would be greatly appreciated by me. Thanks.

switchoff

Newly Enlightened
Part-time job....I worked part-time at UPS while getting my degree. Although this meant I had to take summer courses because I couldn't cram all those classes in my schedule through-out the year.

carrot

Flashaholic
The best money always seems to come from pure academic achievement. If you screwed up (like I did... I used to be a straight A student, until I got broadband)... then it'll depend on "demonstratable financial need," a load of bull if I ever heard any -- "You don't need any financial aid! You can just get a third and fourth morgage on your house!"

Also, there are still a few scholorship contests where you can win some petty cash -- $100 to a couple thousand for writing and such, I believe. Maybe something like scholorshiptree.com has some stuff.

cosine

Newly Enlightened
carrot said:
The best money always seems to come from pure academic achievement.

Also, there are still a few scholorship contests where you can win some petty cash -- $100 to a couple thousand for writing and such, I believe. Maybe something like scholorshiptree.com has some stuff.

Well, I have a 4.0 GPA and scored a 30 on the ACT. I'll look up the website you mentioned.

carrot

Flashaholic