Carrying knives in school

bexteck

Enlightened
So I was sitting in the first meeting of my Psychology 101 class (elective as I am an EE student), and we started talking about school security. Most of this was directed at high schools and the measures taken to prevent incidents similar to the Columbine shootings. Since the class meets at night, there are several adults, one of whom brought up the fact that when he was in high school, he knew someone who carried three knives on him at all times, and how such a thing couldn't happen in this day and age.

Of course I am sitting a few rows over with a Kershaw Blackout clipped to my front pocket and a Leatherman Charge in a holster on my belt. This got me thinking. I carried the same setup all through high school (00-04) and was never confronted by any administrators or teachers (except when asking to borrow one). I have no doubts that most other students would have had knives confiscated and disciplinary action taken against them. I never had this happen because it was known throughout the school as an Eagle Scout, as well as the head lighting technician in the theater and the guy who was at the school every weekend helping to build sets for the drama club's productions.

Has anyone else carried knives either in middle, high school, or college and had a similar experience? This can be very reciently or from several decades ago. I'd like to hear how it has changed over time.

greenLED

Flashaholic
try carrying a knife, unlabeled meds (even Tylenol), headgear, a necklace, or other non-sensical items and you'll get thrown out... :headshake:

I carried a SAK back in highschool and through college. Never felt a single bladed knife was useful for my purposes. The only cutting edge I have on me now is Leatherman Micra (or a Wave, depending on what I'm doing).

I see university students carrying knifes (folders) all the time.

cratz2

Flashlight Enthusiast