SUREFIRE L1 2005 Version Beam Shots........would you be happy ?

faco

Enlightened
Just recently I decided to buy my first Surefire Flashlight. I decided on the L1 and can honestly say I am happy in every way except for the Beam Quality. For years I have been reading reviews on SUREFIRE and said to myself I would own one some day and finally do.

SUREFIRE keeps on advertising about Quality and I agree the Quality is fantastic BUT when they talk about "Flawless Beam" "No dark spots or RINGS" "Perfectly focused Beams" "Intense white brightness" etc etc, I just don't see any of that Quality in the beam at all, the bright RING is so bright it is annoying and takes your view away from the (hot spot) if that's what you call it, I'm new to all this
smile.gif
. Just read the 2005 Catalogue and read what they say on the SUREFIRE web site and you will know what I mean, all they talk about is QUALITY. If it didn't have that VERRY BRIGHT RING it wouldn't worry me about the other rings close to the (hot spot) I'm not that fussy at all but if you see the beam you will understand why I am
mad.gif

The first week with the light I was trying to convince myself that the beam was ok (so I can justify the money I spent on it) but I compared beams with other flashlights and couldn't believe a $30 Streamlight Jr 1watt Flashlight had such a perfect beam compared to my $135 SUREFIRE L1, also many other flashlights I have are so much better in the beam comparisons and they all cost under $50.

I bought this Flashlight online from a dealer most of you guy's also buy from but I don't want to mention the name as it's not his fault at all. It's SUREFIRE themselves for allowing crap Quality Control.

What should I do ? I am thinking of contacting the dealer and sending the light back for a replacement. Or should I send it back to SUREFIRE and see what they can do for me. What would you do ?

As you can tell I am
mad.gif
mecry.gif
rant.gif
thumbsdown.gif