Trying to buy a house soon, any advice?

rayearth

Newly Enlightened
I'm in the market to move out of an apertment and into my first home, yay! I'm doing my homework on the field and I know:
1) don't buy too much house (money-wise)
2) will go for 30 yr fixed, (with extra payments on the side)
3) home inspection for sure
4) good neighborhood (I'm kinda stuck with one Dallas neighborhood due to numerous factors)
5) house orientation (don't want afternoon sun in the livingroom)
6) I need an indoor area for my workshop :)
7) not too much yard - that's just more upkeep

Any other advise from people who gone through the process and regret missing something?

CroMAGnet

Flashlight Enthusiast
There are a few of us CPF'rs in the RE business and I recall a couple of similar threads in the past. I am a Mortgage Consultant in CA and will gladly help with any questions you may have about financing although I do not originate loans in TX. :)

PM or post here.

turbodog

Flashaholic
Skip the 30 yr fixed. You'll sell and move waaaaay before then. I'd look for a 5/1 arm or maybe a 7/1 arm.

If you actually live there 30 years, I'll buy you a beer.

Sleestak

Newly Enlightened
1. Make sure you get a cost comparison with what's in the area. Don't overpay.

2. Check if the neighborhood has a strong organization, and check the CCR's. Some neighborhoods don't have strong organizations, and they suffer for it. Some have nazi organizations, and they suffer for it. Get the CCR's and check them. Some can get ridiculous. Find out if the neighborhood association is voluntary or mandatory. Check to see if they allow sheds in the back yard. These are invaluable places to store the grimy crap that you don't want in your garage, etc, but a lot of newer neighborhoods don't allow them. I moved from one where you couldn't have one to one where you could, and I'll try to never go back.