The incident that got me into flashlights...

Safety1st

Enlightened
The reason why I always carry a Surefire;

For me it was a professional decision;...the scene was as follows;

I am a UK police officer and one cold December evening, responded to a call of a domestic disturbance, at around midnight in a bad part of town. I arrived at the house, to find a chair had been thrown OUT of the window and was laying in pieces on the lawn....From inside the house there wasn't a sound.

I drew my baton, shouted 'Police' and entered the quiet house.....(door was wide open and splintered)....nobody in lounge, nobody in kitchen...all lights on in the house.....only the upstairs to check....

Again shouted "POLICE - COME OUT"...= nothing.

The upper level of the house was in darkness, as was the stairs....I'd left my D Cell flashlight in my policecar in its charger, as I presumed that I wouldn't need it....with the house being lit.....and due to the fact it was so heavy and cumbersome

I shouted again upstairs....and heard no reply...and began to walk up the stairs...one at a time...slowly....careful not to make a creak or squeak....

I took a few more steps and estimated I was now about half way up the stairs....pitch black darkness above and in front of me....a long way behind me was the safety of the lit hallway...:sweat:

Although I was alone, I decided to shout the old favourite..."POLICE K9 UNIT....COME DOWN OR I'LL SEND UP THE DOG!"...:naughty:

A voice.....about 10 feet away (at the top of the stairs said slowly and menacingly)..."Send the dog up...i've got something for it....! "....:drool:

Fear is NOT the word...!

I stepped backwards and retraced my steps.......as I did so..another police officer had arrived and was standing at the bottom of the stairs with his SureFire6P flashlight shining up at me.....