Need ideas for specialty map reading lights

chmsam

Flashlight Enthusiast
Here's a real challenge:

I've been running and working road rallies for many years. These are basically events where you follow a set of intructions to drive a route and maintain a preset driving pace. Teams consist of a driver and a navigator. The ones I do are usually run at night, and reading the instructions and especially maps present a unique chalenge. The route instructions ("routes") can be 20 or more pages long and most maps are multi-colored. Since the night vision of both the people in the car needs to be preserved, that limits color and brightness level, but red light does no good to read a map with roads shown in red. Ditto with green and blue.

I have a "reader board" that is a small box with a lucite panel underneath which are three red bulbs. The instructions are taped end to end and rolled up so they can be scrolled across the illuminated surface. This works well but the board runs off the 12v. system in the car, so it's tethered to the car (not good if you need to move around a lot and really not good if the airbags go off) and because it uses bulbs, they can burn out and/or get hot, plus it doesn't work well for maps. Using a head light casts too much light (for instance, an Aurora won't ramp down low enough), too little (Photon clipped to a hat), or too wide a spill (Tikka and the like). They also reflect off the side window and distract the driver.

There are lights that mount to the headliner of the car and throw light over the shoulder of the navigator, but since they have filters (usually red only) and dimmers, they aren't cheap. Plus, since they have to be permanently mounted and use bulbs, they aren't my first choice.

Book lights or page illuminators are too bulky or too hard to change pages on the fly. Flipping back and forth from the bottom of one page to the top of the next happens often.