Surefire M3 options and questions.

seery

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hi folks. I'm new to CPF and would like to say THANKS to all the folks that
contribute and make it a great place to be.

I have two M3 lights and have a few questions regarding options and such.
Looking for more throw and longer run times.

(1) How is it that the M4 (with only one more cell than the M3) can offer a
full 40 minutes more run time advanage over the M3 with both at 225 lumens?

(2) What would adding the MC123 one cell extension do to my M3 output and
run time? Would I need to change bulbs or? What else do I need to know about
the MC123? Was unable to find info on the SF web site. Would this essentially
turn my M3 with a KT4 head into an M4 or?

(3) The price difference between the M3T and the M4 is minimal and the price
difference between buying just the KT4 head for the M3's I already own and a
whole new M3T is semi-minimal. So I need advice folks.

- Buy a Kt4 head?
- Buy a whole new M3T?
- Buy an M4?
- Add the MC123 and?
- Talk me into an M6?

Been searching the forums learning all I can but would really appreciate all
help on the above.

Thanks and Happy Lighting!

Last edited:

lotsalumens

Enlightened
I recently bought an MC123 and am in the process of converting my M3T into an M4. As far as I know you do need the M4 bulb (high or low) since you are now operating at 12 volts instead of 9. According to UPS my bulbs should arrive today so I'll be able to tell you how it works out. I have to say that I like the looks of a converted M3T more than the stock M4. It places the Rogers/Surefire rubber grip a bit far forward, but at least you still have it which you don't with an M4. It also creates a more flexible light since it can always be converted back to an M3T or M3 if needed.