Most useful DeOxit packaging f/CPFers

Sub_Umbra

Flashlight Enthusiast
I was just looking around in preparation to order some DeOxit and I was blown away by all of the different ways it's packaged:
  • Tiny Squeeze Tube
  • Bottle w/Needle Dispenser
  • Bottle w/Brush Applicator
  • Pen
  • Wipes
  • Spray
I've never used it before but it does occur to me that flashlight contacts are probably best maintained by just one or two of these packages. I've heard it mentioned here so often that I'd like to know what you think is the handiest way to use it. So, how do you buy yours?

Also, what is the best solution for CPFers?
  • DeOxit
  • DeOxit GOLD
  • 100% Solution
  • 5% Solution
Help!

TIA

PS: All of my lights are LED.

CLHC

Flashaholic
I have the DeOxit Power Booster 5% Spray Solution and the DeOxit ProGold 5% Spray Solution (now GOLD). . .I've heard many here say that they prefer the pen-type for their uses.

Last edited:

cyberhobo

Enlightened
I use the pen types for both DeOxit and ProGold. Especially, since they are 100% solutions and readily available at RadioShack.

LuxLuthor

Flashaholic
I bought the small spray cans combo package of Deoxit + ProGold for $12 at local RadioShack, cause you are supposed to use the Deoxit first if there is any sign of existing oxidation, then ProGold gives a long lasting coat of protection.

However, the sprays....even though cheap, are a pain in the *** to use for all the small battery and lightbulb contacts because they spray too much, and all over even with the tube.

So after making a mess with all my rechargeable battery holders and batteries, I went back and just got a ProGold pen for $14 at Radio Shack, and in retrospect, that's all I would have gotten in the first place.

I guess the pen puts out the 100% solution....which I have a hard time seeing that it makes that much more difference vs. a spray version that also coats the whole surface....but the main thing is you can apply it precisely.