My first post: Duty flashlight questions

KevH

Newly Enlightened
I currently own: a Surefire 6R, Surefire Z2, Streamlight Stinger XT and a few battery powerd Maglites.

I'm new to flashlights being anything more than a tool on my belt or in my duty bag or sittting around my house. This site is making me see them in a sort of different way.

Here's my situation: I have worked for the past five years for a PD that issued Streamlight SL-20X's and SL-20XP's. They also encouraged us to use personaly owned Stinger's. Our SL-20's have been used and abused and I've seen them fail in all sorts of ways. I've had good luck with my own Stinger, but I've treated it fairly gingerly. My Surefire 6R has had problems since I got it, but seems to be doing ok now after a trip back to the factory (the lamp failed without having any real hard use and I've had battery issues). The Z2's lamp failed after only having it for a month and a half (Surefire sent me a new one, but it doesn't make me feel real confident in the light). I've had nothing but good luck with the battery powered Maglites. I've had a lamp go out now and then but that's easliy replaced. Now that I'm moving on to a new PD, I have to buy my own duty flashlight. What do you guys recommend? I've been looking at buying a Surefire 8AX for my belt and either a Maglite Rechargeable or Streamlight SL-20XLED for my duty light. I like metal flashlights, what do you guys think/recommend?

Delvance

Enlightened
A M@gcharger sounds about right :) . Plus you can easily upgrade the bulb to something alot brighter. I think there are threads here to replace the battery pack with something much better as well (NiMH pack comes to mind). All in a nice bombproof M@g body with ac/dc charger i think. As for something smaller, maybe an LED light seeing as you've run into problems with incans. A SF with a Lux 5 maybe ? Massive flood of wall light and very bright, and generally LEDs are lifetime...