Dang, is the regulation of the Pelican PM6 2330 really that bad?

KDOG3

Flashlight Enthusiast
I was just looking at the flashlightreviews.com review of the the 2330 and man that regulation they are showing is AWFUL. Anyone have any experience with this light?

Planterz

Flashlight Enthusiast
I've no experience with any Pelicans, but the runtime plot does seem weird, especially compared to several of their other lights which appear to have excellent flat-output regulation. Maybe it's somethign to do with the 3-mode switch (better regulation at lower outputs?).

Archangel

Flashlight Enthusiast
What *I* don't understand is why my Golston 7W is obviously brighter on the same batteries when it also is direct drive. My only guess is that my Pelican 1w has a high-Vf luxeon. Wish there was some way to take advantage of that.

cheapo

Flashlight Enthusiast
I think the runtime is good for an unregulated light. Could be worse right? I doubt your golston gets better runtime though.

-David

Delvance

Enlightened
Archangel,

Your Golston should be brighter as it's using some clone Lux3 emitter that's being overdriven slightly. The Peli 2330 only uses a Lux1 emitter.

Or am i reading your post wrong lol

Archangel

Flashlight Enthusiast
I meant to add the "nearly dead batteries" part, but yeah, i kinda forgot that the Pelican was a 1w. Obviously i was a bit shy of caffeine when i wrote that.

Flashlight Enthusiast
Standard model 2330 M6 LED is NOT regulated. In actual everyday use, I don't see significant output drop until about 1:30. So, even though the graph shows a large drop, its not too noticable to my eyes.

New 2390 Lux III M6 LED is regulated, and its output graph is very good...flat regulation.

cheapo

Flashlight Enthusiast
Why is it that there are complaints about an unregulated light with decent runtime, and no complaints about any other untregulated lights having low runtime. Is it because there is a certain expectation of Pelican lights?

-David

vtunderground