17670 Li-Ion Lamp Assembly Recommendations

CoffeeAchiever

Newly Enlightened
Greetings from a new CPF member,

I am new to both the world of high quality flashlights and CPF. This is my first post after many evenings attempting to enlighten myself by perusing the discussion threads.

I recently purchased a SureFire 6P from LightHound (excellent dealer, thanks John!) with the G&P G90/RCR123a/DSD Charger Kit. Guilt-free lumens! I also picked up a few sets of rechargeable Li-Ion batteries to try and I've been generally happy with the results. Using an A19 extender, I can successfully run the G90 with two 17500 batteries (both protected and unprotected). The lamp lights immediately and runs much brighter than the stock SureFire P60 lamp assembly with two primary CR123's. I'm not having as much success driving my lamps with the protected 17670 batteries. Although a single protected 17670 will light either lamp (no double-clicking required!) the light output is greatly reduced (naturally).

So, can anybody recommend a reasonably bright lamp assembly (incandescent or LED) that will fit in a SureFire 6P head and run at full or near-full brightness when driven by a single 3.7V protected 17670 battery? I plan to use this flashlight/battery combination during a weekend camping trip I have planned for late March. I will be bringing a supply of CR123 primaries (and a back-up Brinkman Maxfire) just in case.

Thanks everyone. I've enjoyed reading your comments along my journey of enlightenment!

Paul_in_Maryland

Flashlight Enthusiast
There are three incandescents to consider:
  • G&P G5R, rated 70 lumens, 1.8A, available only from Emillion, about $9 (to those who register on his site)
  • Wolf Eyes original 3.7V D26 (also sold as a Pila under a different model name), 80 lumens, about 2 amps
  • Wolf Eyes new 3.7V D26, 100 lumens, about 2 amps
I have all three, as well as the new Wolf Eyes 3.7V D36 (miniturbo), and will be reporting on them in March, with beam shots.