Is it dangerous to look into bright lights?

SCblur

Enlightened
I've heard this at times here on the forums. Is it true that looking into really bright lights is bad for you? How bad? How bright would a light need to be before it is dangerous? Am I safe looking into my A2 and G2, or is that stupid? I never thought this would be harmful until I came here.

this_is_nascar

Flashaholic
SCblur said:
I've heard this at times here on the forums. Is it true that looking into really bright lights is bad for you? How bad? How bright would a light need to be before it is dangerous? Am I safe looking into my A2 and G2, or is that stupid? I never thought this would be harmful until I came here.

With all due respect............... what do you think the answer is? Isn't the answer similar to "is it dangerous to walk in the street with moving traffic"? No disrespect intended, but come on.

Justice Inc.

Newly Enlightened
First of all I must admit that I am no expert, but I don't think that looking into bright lights on a regular basis would be all that good for your eyes. Just like staring at the sun - if you do it for long enough something will give. But seriously I think that it would be best practice to avoid it (looking at the sun and into bright lights).

Mini-Moder

Enlightened
I agree with TIN on this one. But if you just got your A2 or something and you wonder how bright it is, I dont think it is oging to hurt you just that once. But if you do it everyday, I would imagine after a while it would casue damage.

zespectre

Flashlight Enthusiast
From my own research what you have to be especially careful of is light in the blue or violet end of the spectrum (the shorter wavelengths) which, above a certain power, can cause photochemical issues in the retina. It is also possible to actually burn the retina or other parts of the eye from a very concentrated beam (such as viewing the sun through a telescope or a strong SLR camera lens).