Let's talk about diamonds....

xochi

Flashlight Enthusiast
Hey,
I've been putting off an engagement ring for a few years now but sometime during the next year, I gotta buy one .

It seems to be a confusing purchase but I;m looking for maximum value. I'm thinking blue nile. Any of you got any tips on buying a diamond.

I know that generally, it isn't a positive but whatever diamond I buy must fluoresce (blue). That is my cpf fascination with light and all. I think it is much cooler for a light to glow in the dark under black light than not.

powernoodle

Flashlight Enthusiast
Buy from a reputable mom and pop jeweler and not one of the mall chain type stores. You get more for your money and better service, IMO.

And get to know the 4 Cs. Cut, carat, color, and clarity. link

Don't assume you know what cut chickipoo prefers unless she has told you.

Bigger is better than smaller.

I've never heard of this blue stuff you are talking about.

I have spoken. :nana:

zespectre

Flashlight Enthusiast
I'm going to preface this with the honest admission that I HATE the whole wedding racket so pardon any cynicism that leaks through.

That whole "three months salary" guideline was fabricated by someone in the diamond industry who wants to bilk you out of $$$. I love my wife but there was no way I was going to have her walking around with the equivilant of a very nice used car hanging off her finger! I'm a lucky man because my wife honestly feels the same way and told me (after we were married) that she initially felt I had overdone it and could have gone with a more modest ring than the one I gave her.

People worry about looking "cheap" but good God, you're about to give the woman pretty much everything you have AND nearly everything you will EVER have for the REST OF YOUR LIFE. How cheap could you really be??? <grin>