LED 4v max! can it take 6v?

newlight-06

Newly Enlightened
Hello,

I have an LED that states 4 volt max, but I have seen some others powered by 2 3V coin cells (the 2016's I think) without resistors. Does anyone have recommendations for best powering the LED in the simplest fashion. I am currently considering testing it with the two 3V batteries (for 6v total) to see if it holds up. The other, obvious, option is to use a resistor to drag down the voltage.
I am interested in anyone that has experience in overpowering LED's with such specs and results you may have had.

I am fairly new to LEDs. Your help is very much appreciated.:grin2:

greenLED

Flashaholic
Are those 2x3C coin cells wired in series or parallel? 6V would likely kill the LED.

If you're into modding, check out the Homemade and Modified section on CPF - lots of neat ideas for cool projects and very knowledgeable people.

Welcome to CPF!

eebowler

Flashlight Enthusiast
With coin cells, 6V is possibly only because the cells themselves can only output a limited amount of current which isn't enough to fry the LED.

You can even power an LED with up to 12 V using those small 12V cells used for remotes etc.

Any larger cells will however, put out enough current to fry the LED if you apply more than about 4V to the LED.

newlight-06

Newly Enlightened
Thank you for your responses.

So ... is it common to assume that the smaller coin cells are not actually putting out the voltage they specify? I have two 2016s for a total of 6v directly powering a 4v max LED, and it looks good. I loose quite a bit of brightness with the 100 ohm resistor that was originally recommended, and would rather run them brighter if possible. If the coin cells were larger, say the 2032s, would the same apply? That is, is it just the 2016s that will allow the LED to be run at 6v? How about the 2032's?

I would appreciate input from anyone with experience with the Nichia CS and data on over powering them.