I'm a total noob, but I want to get a really bright modded light. HELP!

SCblur

Enlightened
Hey guys,

I'm pretty new to lights, and have accumulated several since I started my addiction. I have pretty much everything I need, except something really bright. I have seen some posts about modded mags that put out 500+ lumens, but I don't know the first thing about modding, batteries, protected cells, unprotected, etc.

I was wondering if you guys could give me some info or point me in the right direction. I would even be very interested in purchasing a light from a moder here on CPF, but I don't know how to interpret what I'm looking at. Here's what I want in a bright light.

500+ lumens would be nice.
rechargeable without too much hassle (ie, I don't want to worry about overcharging, or something)
decent runtime, at least 30 minutes.
throwy. this light is for reaching out to touch someone!
Mag sized, or smaller

So, I have heard of several popular mag mods, like Mag81, stuff like that. Are any of those what I am looking for? Is there somebody who makes stuff like this on request? What kind of stuff does a noob like me need to think about? What kinds of cost ranges can I expect?

Any answers you have, or if you can point me to a good reference, I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks guys.

Josh

NotEnoughLight

Enlightened
A few options you can go for:

incandescents

Mag 85 : runs on 8 or 9 AA NiMH batteries. Charging the batteries is a chore. The stuff you need can be 1) a modamag 8AA-2D holder in a BORED 2D mag with a potted WA 1185 bulb, metal reflector (from lightedge, litho123, modamag, fivemega and some others i may have forgotten about) and borofloat (recommended) lens or UCL from lightedge.

Another option would be to get a Kiu's socket and replace it with the stock switch to run bi-pin WA1185 bulbs

Mag74 : Same as Mag85, except you use either 6 or 7 AAs with a WA1274 bulb