Just got an Inova X5... my first good LED.

zulu45

Enlightened
I've gotta say, I didn't even know LED lights have advanced like this. I remember the only LED lights I had before were only dim lights, which had little to no practical use, aside from examining my firearms and working on computers. But on a whim, I decided to try out the X5, and I'm officially hooked.

When it comes to LED lights, I'll admit, I'm a total newbie. I really don't know what the different types of LEDs are, what they're called, or anything like that. But I am glad that this is a nice little light, which I now carry on me at all times, replacing my 2xAA Mini Mag w/ LED conversion kit. I've just got a few questions concerning this light, really.

What can I expect from it in terms of battery life? Is it something that's cost effective to use as an everyday light? Or should it be for emergancy only?

And, more-so, how is it on water resistance? Granted, I don't intend on submerging this light, although accidents can always happen, but I'm wondering if it's safe to use this thing in the rain.

I also picked up, for the hell of it, a River Rock 2xAAA LED light, which also surprised me. IF the X5 isn't practical for battery life to be used as my main, I'll probably use this RR, as it's brightness is sufficient for the uses I have.

I'm thinking about getting the RR LED lantern for my parents, to where they don't have to fumble with candles during a power outage. Hopefully it'll be sufficient, but not entirely sure.

Any advice or info on any of these lights, particularly the RR lantern and the X5 would be greatly appreciated.

Once again, I'm new here, and I hope to not be TOO much of a burden... :D

Navck

Enlightened
Its susposed to be waterproof to 50 or so feet. I tested mine in a sink. It passed great while the MiniM*g next to it drowned. But this was a few years ago...

beezaur

Flashlight Enthusiast
Welcome to CPF!