Asked to help local PD

propcut

Newly Enlightened
I have logged on to this site just about everyday for 4-5 months now although I have only posted a few times. I live in a small town about 60 miles north of Seattle WA. I'm writting this because I have been asked by some friends in our local PD for some help to educate them on upgrading their rifle mounted lights. What better place to obtain the information they need than this site of vast flashlight knowledge. What I will do is insert parts of a couple of the e-mails I have recieved from their Tactical Officer outlining their needs. Two of the e-mails follow.

I'm a firearms instructor for as well as the armorer for our patrol rifles. I'm looking at replacing our existing attached flashlights to our rifles. The lights we now have are TAC III older push on and momentary on tail switches. They are not very durable as they were claimed. I was looking at a INOVA Tac III because of its LED lamp and same switch as our existing lights. Do you have any information you can share with me of LED lights that are at least 85 lumens and aren't so outrageous in price? The same 1"diameter light I'm looking for with a tail switch.