Professional Wrestling Discussion

Sixpointone

Enlightened
*Hi All, I did not want to Hijack another thread I think it would be best to cover the discussion in regards to Wrestling in this thread.*

My original post from this thread https://www.candlepowerforums.com/posts/1348943#post1348943 is below...

One thing that always interests me is people discussing a topic, which with all due respect, if not often understood.

It is in regards to the mention of "8. Who think Professional Wresting is real and a sport."

Earlier in this thread I made mention of a quote. It said... "For those whom know no explanation is needed. And for those whom do not none is possible." Truth be told, when I made that comment I had the topic of Professional Wrestling solely in mind.

For the first time on these boards I am going to slightly open up in regards to my personal life. That is to say from 1992-99 I worked in the Industry, on the Independent Level, as a Wrestling Manager. Yes, the same type of manager as others like Bobby Heenan, Jimmy Hart, Freddie Blassie, Jim Cornette and Paul Dangerously.

I took, and still take, the utmost pride in the craft. And the toll it can take on one, emotionally and physically, to me is all too real and all too often misunderstood. I am fortunate that when I left the profession I still had much of my health in tact. But truth be told my body has certainly broken down.

I am 32, and I have arthritis in both hips, knees and ankles. My back and neck are pretty banged up. I've lost total feeling in both arms before. And I have been unconscious for two days after popping my collarbone out and being rushed to the hospital.

So whereas yes, I will agree that results might be predetermined, to me that does not make it quite fake. Many will point to how matches are choreographed. However, many great wrestlers are like Jazz musicians, in that they can have a basic outline of where they want to go, and vibe and ad lib there way in that direction.