Help!: Maglite Solitare Modding

dudewithamag

Newly Enlightened
I Just invested a whopping $5 in a maglite solitare. Now... I want to make it 1000 times brighter. Im new to flashlights, but i want to use the solitare as a base, and mod the s#it out of it. Can anyone tell me if there is a place I can buy a mod or walk me through the mod process? I want it as bright as possible.

CLHC

Flashaholic
First of all, Welcome to CPF!

Since I don't have these particular model from Mag, you may want to try checking out LED-Replacement.Com for drop-ins.

And as you may already know, Mag Instruments are releasing their own version of LED flashlights. :huh:

Hope you find what you're looking for and Enjoy!

greenLED

Flashaholic
Welcome to CPF!

:awman: I'm sorry to say, but you bought one of the least mod-friendly ligts out there. The stuff at led-replacement is nice, but nothing commercially available you drop into a Soli will make it 1000 brighter - such is the nature of the beast. Another LED drop-in to check out would be the one from Lambda (search for his posts to find his website).

AuroraLite's "Dummy reference guide to minimag modding" (search Aurora's old posts) is a great resource to check out since you're into Mags.

Also, check the CPF Specials thread I maintain - might save a buck or two on a "light or two" ;)

carrot

Flashaholic
I'm actually kinda in the same position... I just picked up two copper Solitaires for $1.26 each -- on clearance at my Target. I wish there were better mods for these things.

dudewithamag

Newly Enlightened
I saw the led drop in mod, doesnt look like anything special though. how do i get a luxeon 3 into a solitare body?
(and have it work of course).:sssh:

greenLED

Flashaholic
dudewithamag said:
how do i get a luxeon 3 into a solitare body?
You send a PM to LED_ASAP, and have him do his magic. It won't be cheap, though. Like I said, the Soli is one of the least mod-friendly lights out there.

CLHC

Flashaholic