So, do I want an L2 or an A2?

cosine

Newly Enlightened
I don't know. Owners of those two lights, please chime in! Tell me what you like and don't like about them.

The only difference between them that I can really see is that the L2 is brighter. So what would be an advantage of having an A2 over an L2? (I gotta be convinced that the A2 will provide enough light. Yep, I'm one of those "brighter is better" people. :whistle:)

Beamshots of the two lights would be appreciated too, along with actual pics of the lights side by side.

Mucho gracias. :grin2:

Edit: What about a U2? Anyone care to explain how those work and whether they're a comfortable carrying size?

I'm a newbie at all of this.

Last edited:

greenLED

Flashaholic
U2: clicky on/off, you turn the dial near the bezel to change brightness - very bright! Read recent rants about it; I still think it's a kick-a light. It's about the size of a 3x123 light, if that serves as any reference. I can carry it comfortably clipped to my pants, but YMMV.

metalhed

Enlightened
I just received my first L2 last week...and I'm stoked.

It really is an impressive piece of work. It is brighter than I expected (as bright as my 3x3 watt lights on high) in both modes (low is brighter than an Arc LS by my eye.) It is also smaller than I expected, and rides very well in the pocket as an EDC,at least so far.

Battery life seems to be very, very good. No problems here with rotten tint, dust, or a flaky switch. My only criticism is that I don't like the style of lanyard they include...big deal.

Highly recommended light, as far as I'm concerned. :thumbsup:

Protaeus

Enlightened
The L2 produces a bright flood. Good for close to medium range work, bad for longer range work.
There have also been some issues and ongoing debate regarding the runtime ofthe L2 on high. THe luxeon V is driven hard - with possible overheating issues...