Which cofee machine to buy?

RCatR

Enlightened
I'm a college student, and I'm addicted to coffee.
Lately I've been spending more money on Java than on parts/electronics/flashlights and I need to buy a more permenant solution
seeing as this is called the Cafe and all....

What brand of coffee machine should I buy? I'm looking to keep it under $30, but sitll be able to get a decently smooth, hot cup of tanalizing caffeine brewed up in my room whenever I feel the urge.

mbely2

Enlightened
Really good machine cost a lot. Cheap machines doesn't make good cofee.
I think French Press may be the best solution; still you will need good beans and decent burr grinder.

Mark

Last edited:

onthebeam

Enlightened
The last time Consumer Reports rated machines, they found no correlation between price and qualilty. They top rated a $30 Braun. I can vouch for that as I've had my Braun for 19 years. It's still going strong.

For truly great coffee, grind your own beans and look for coffee that has been fresh roasted, preferably locallly. Commercial coffees, no matter the price, are usually roasted months before they reach the consumer. And, they best flavor is of course lost. The difference in recently roasted coffee is amazing. You can learn alot at coffeereviews.com

Enjoy that Java!

winny

Flashlight Enthusiast
+1 on that. A grinder is the key to everything and if you pay nothing (assuming a new machine here), you get nothing. I don't know if coffee machines are cheaper in the US but you can hardly get one for $30 here at all.
However, you should probably not ask me. I spent $650 on my current espresso machine and $450 on my grinder, and they where both used... And by the way, I'm a student too... :broke:

Sigman

* The Arctic Moderator *
...not another coffee thread? :ohgeez:

Another vote for a French Press!! If in a dorm and you can't cook in the room - microwave the water!

:thumbsup:

raggie33

*the raggedier*