Driving a lot of white LEDs

Amer

Newly Enlightened
Hi, I am fairly new to the LED lightning concepts. Although I do understand the basic constraints and how to drive LEDs. I am trying to build a LED based flood light. I am using around 120 white 5mm good quality LEDs. I have used series and parallal combination to design my cluster and to operate it at 12V.
However I am facing problems during testing. According to the LED manufacturer the LEDs should last for 50,000 hours but in my case, the LEDs start flickering and a few have also burnt out after only a few days operation. The light intensity also decreased considerably after only 48 hours of operation.
I am using current limiting resistors and am driving the LEDs at 20 mA as mentioned by the manufacturer as optimum current. I am using a 12V 2A DC Voltage supply. I have got some information that I have to drive LEDs with a current controlled driver. These drivers are fairly expansive and there are ICs that can drive around 4LEDs and that solution is also very expansive.

Can anyone give me any suggestions or solutions to help me with this design? I' ll be grateful.

hotbeam

Flashlight Enthusiast
Welcome to the CPF!

If you are putting 20mA to the LEDs, it should not die or flicker. You said they are good LEDs. What brand are they?

hotbeam said:
Welcome to the CPF!

If you are putting 20mA to the LEDs, it should not die or flicker. You said they are good LEDs. What brand are they?

Have you measured the current? Measure the voltage across the resistor and use ohm's law to figure out how much current is actually going to the LEDs

chesterqw

Flashlight Enthusiast
are they really of good quality or it is the blabberings coming from the manufacturers?

also, are the leds running cool enough? they do create heat you know...

Builder

Newly Enlightened
Remember that I=V/R, so if your DC supply (V) is stable, then using just the right resistor (R) will create a stable, and steady current source (I).