Newbie to LED, E2L or TL-2, need advice

ARRI

Newly Enlightened
Hello everybody, this is my first post at cpf, and i am from HongKong
i am a newbie to flashlights, already own a SL jr. 2 gen, SL TL-2 wth. 9V bulb and inova X1(optics)

I am going to get a LED for general use, hiking(not EDC), i like the 2x123a size, do not need to be very small, just not too big is OKAY, and the light need to have a good throw

I am considering the Surefire E2L & Streamlight TL-2 Led gen2, refer to the FLR's review, the SL is brighter overall, but Surefire got a HAIII, better build quality and many others reasons.

Need comments on these two lights, Thx!

IonFire

Enlightened
Welcome to the addiction, and the forum:grin2:

I can only speak for the E2L, and aslong as you already undertand it is a tightly focused beam to make it throw so nicely, that is has no spill beam. I used mine on a 4 hour hike last clipped to my hat with others in hand and with family using thier own lights.

On level terrain it is ok,otherwise you have to tilt now an then to watch for uneven slopes,not a great solo hiking light, makes a great look down the path light however.

Now,bonus, i run mine on rechargeable r123's, yes the protected 4.2 volt version ones, The head will handle the extra juice and produce a few more lumens doing so.Run time till blackness 2.5 hours,no gradual sloping or dimming,just off when the protection circuit kicks in on the batteries,use back up light and install fresh R123's and away i go till i got home.

Downside, no spill beam other then a distant ring that is useless.
Sorry for long winded post, i just wanted to explain why i find the light so handy, its guilt free lumens for me, and i do not mind the tight focus and squarish beam it puts out.(So i bought the E1L at the same time for EDC, And it uses a R123 aswell)

So other lights may be better suited for your task needed, otherwise, An E2L would not hurt to have in your collection.

IF

Edited

CLHC

Flashaholic