New Chameleon...woot! But, batteries...

mikeymoto

Newly Enlightened
I received a new Chemeleon from Lighthound (thanks!) yesterday.
It's a cool little light, with many configuration options. I must say I'm pretty new to the world of CR123s, and I was scared my light was broken when I popped in a brand new BatteryStation 123 primary and only the lowest two light levels would work. I set the light to CT3, not knowing what it came at from lighthound, and still only levels 1 and 2 (and maybe 3, I forgot). I tried another new BS 123 primary, same thing. So, I popped my new RCRs on the charger and waited overnight.

I got the RCR/charger kit that HDS sells (via lighthound). I hope it's a pretty good kit. I had the charger on a timer so its power was cut off after 3 hours, since I had gone to bed. Having read scary things about RCRs, I did not want them on a powered charger unattended all night.

Anyhow, this morning I popped in a charged RCR and finally was able to get all 5 levels. Wheeeew, no broken light!

I have not tried these BS primaries in any other lights. I guess the reason I'm writing all this is to ask if it's more likely that the Chameleon has "special" needs not met by the BS primaries in order to show all light levels at less-than-max CTs, or do I maybe have bad batteries? I just got them from BS about a week ago - I had bought some Pelican cases full of batteries.

Thanks! I continue to find this forum a helpful source of information (and entertainment). Shine on...

nethiker

Enlightened
While I'm sure you will get a more inteligent answer than I'm able to give, I'll chime in to say that your batteries are most likely fine. There are lights that are made specifically to take advantage of the properties of rechargable batteries. You can use primaries in a pinch, but as you see, performance suffers considerably.

Welcome to CPF.

changsn

Newly Enlightened