Luxeon question

DanPar

Newly Enlightened
I bought a Dorcy super 1 watt. The Led is a LXHL-MW1D. When I put my fluke meter ocross the circuit board, like the led would go I get 5.2 v and 1500ma. On the lumiled's website it states the MW1D led can only handle 350ma max. I would assume I would be safe with a Lux III which is rated 1000ma Max. I dont know what are your thoughts...

idleprocess

Flashaholic
Current must be measured in series with the load. Measuring it in parallel will give you strange yet meaningless results.

I'm not sure why you're getting 5.2V. The 3xAAA pack should generate ~4.5V open-circuit voltage when the cells are new.

DanPar

Newly Enlightened
I measured the current in series. Im not your amatuer electronics guy. I do Avionics for a living. Its just got these weird reading.

wasBlinded

Flashlight Enthusiast
So you got a current of 1500 mA in in series with the LED? I didn't think AAA alkaline cells could deliver that kind of current. In any event, since a Luxeon I LED is physically the same as a Luxeon III, it should handle 1500 mA in short bursts. If it were extremely well heat sinked, it could go quite a while at those currents without much deterioration, but I'll bet thermal management on that light isn't so good.

I guess you could see 5.2v across the LED at 1500 mA, but that Vf still seems pretty high.

HarryN

Flashlight Enthusiast
I am not an EE, but I will through out some wild ideas based on what I have read from others who seem to know what they are talking about.

- I think that the dorcy board might be a boost circuit, so it is trying to increase voltage to what ever is required to meet the needs of your LED and meter. This could affect the readings.

- Many of the current regulation boards operate in a pulse mode. The average voltage and current might be correct for the LED, but the pulse is quite a bit higher. My own DMM cannot measure this correctly.