Have A-2, what should be next purchase?

KreweRoux

Newly Enlightened
I just bought an A-2 (e-bay, $130.00, new with box). I had previously thoght about an L 2 as I liked the 2 output capability and the 100 lumen output. After reading a lot of threads, like the A-2 magnum opus that will no doubt become famous, I realize that the L2 is more of a flood. I don't want to replicate my purchase so it seems the L 2 might be a good way to go. Or should I go for a more penetrating beam like a C3, with a F04 diffuser. Or will my A-2 actually reach out? (It hasn't arrrived yet) How bad is that, I don't even have it yet and I'm already thinking about the next SF, whoo boy am I hooked. I would appreciate some feedback. I'm a chef, so the application would primarily be an edc on my belt with a light to light up a room like the Walk-in (where we store the food, usually lit, if you can call it that by a 60 watt bulb) so I can find food and such. Also what about something for the glove box of the car?

bwaites

Flashlight Enthusiast
I have always felt that after the A2, which has low output and medium output, that a high output light like the C3/M3/M3T/M4 or M6 is next. Something about 200 Lumens.

The M3 with HOLA/LOLA is a great light.

Bill

dragoman

Enlightened
After purchasing my A2, my next light was a Surefire 9P w/KL3 head. In hindsight, I kind of wish I had gone with a C3 instead. I love my 9P, I just realize that the A2 spoiled me and that I want a HAIII finish on my lights from now on.

A C3 with a KL3 or KL4 will give you the performance you are looking for, and if you need bright you can use a P91 lamp assembly in the stock head, or buy a Turbohead for even greater throw. Many many options are there with this setup.

I like the 3-cell light for longer/brighter runtimes too.

dragoman

Blindasabat

Flashlight Enthusiast