Surefire Clip Question

swatman

Newly Enlightened
I notice that the old version SF lights (such as A2) have longer clip than the current version. I don't own an SF light yet. What's the different between the long and short clips? Are SF clips suitable as belt clips or they are strictly pocket/baseball cap clips?

carrot

Flashaholic
The current A2, E2O, C2, C3 and M2 have long pocketclips. Surefire's site is not up-to-date with current pictures of all their lights. (No idea why... but you can see different versions in their pictures for each light.)

The U2 and K2 have completely different pocketclips, and I have had no experience with those. I've heard people say it's perfect for a belt clip.

All the other lights with pocketclips have short ones, and they are completely interchangeable (ask SF to send you whichever one you prefer).

I find the long clip preferable because it is springier and thus easier to clip to things. The short clip is stiffer and those who prefer it argue that it is more secure. I find that either clip will fit securely on my leather belt (about 1.5mm thick), but I usually prefer to have my lights in my pocket.

CLHC

Flashaholic
According to SF, the shorter is suitable for "thinner" fabrics such as dress shirts henceforth the SF.E2e Excecutive. The longer clip is more suited for "thicker" fabrics such as them Woolrich jackets, as is seen on the SF.E2o Outdoorsman.

IonFire

Enlightened
For my EL's, they are Hat/Pocket clips, and never would be trusted for more then that.

Not much holds them on really.

Oh, and makes a decent anti-roll device.

IF

iNDiGLo

"the Precious..."
I have both a long and short clip for my Surefire L4 and i think the long clip helps hold the light in place better if i clip it to something. I don't use the short clip for fear it might come unclipped. Just personal preference.

swatman

Newly Enlightened