Old dogs/New tricks

Greta

Flashaholic
There was a thread here in the Cafe awhile ago regarding learning new skills and taking on new careers for those of us who can no longer be considered "young pups" and/or those who for other reasons (health, attrition, etc.) can no longer continue with current career paths. I thought I'd share what has happened to me recently and how it really IS possible to teach old dogs new tricks... and you never know what those new tricks will turn out to be!

At my 20th high school reunion (6 years ago), I was proud of myself because I was a successful business owner (travel agency) and doing well. I hated the job... inherited the business from inlaws... but at least it was successful. After September 11th, 2001 business wasn't so good so I made the decision to close the agency and become a lady of leisure. That lasted about 10 months. Then I went to KMart to be a part-time cashier for the holidays... just to get out of the house and get some mad money in my pockets. 4 months later, I was working as a cashier in the pharmacy. 5 months after that, I was moved to the back and training to be a pharmacy technician. And 2 months after that, I got my certification and license and I WAS a pharmacy techinician!

I did that for about a year and then the veneer wore off. Not with the job itself... I loved the job!... but the politics and personalities of the "office" really ruined it for me. I just couldn't deal with it and going to work actually became work. So I began a home study program in Crime Scene Investigation and just 4 months ago, I submitted a volunteer packet with the local police department to be an evidence technician... (running the evidence room, working crime scenes, processing evidence, etc.). The volunteer program at our PD takes alot to get into... background investigation, polygraph, etc. So I haven't started there yet.